Conference Program.pdf (131 kB)
List of Participants.pdf (127,2 kB)

Friday, June 26, 2009 (Museum of Decorative Arts in Prague, Žofín Palace)

Program_friday.pdf (34,2 kB)

15:00 Opening of the Exhibition “Memories Returned” (Museum of Decorative Arts)
          By special invitations only.

17:00 Press Conference (Žofín Palace, Small Hall) - video

18:00 Opening Ceremony (Žofín Palace, Large Hall) - video

Welcoming Remarks

Musical Performance - Zofin.pdf (34,8 kB)

19:00   Reception 

21:00 Adjourn

Saturday, June 27, 2009 (Prague Congress Centre)

Program_saturday.pdf (49,5 kB)

Informal Expert Discussions

Working Group (WG) Looted Art 

WG Holocaust Education, Remembrance and Research

19:30 – 21:00 Reception
Hosted by the Embassies of Austria, France, Germany, Israel, the Netherlands, Poland, Russia, Sweden,
the United Kingdom and the United States (U.S. Ambassador´s Residence)

Sunday, June 28, 2009 (Prague Congress Centre, Wallenstein Garden)

Program_sunday.pdf (87,5 kB)

9:00 – 9:45 Opening Plenary Session (PCC, South Hall) - video

10:00 – 11:30 Concurrent Expert Sessions I

11:30 – 11:45 Coffee Break

11:45 – 13:15 Concurrent Expert Sessions II

13:15 – 14:30 Buffet Lunch
14:30 – 16:00 Concurrent Expert Sessions III

16:00 – 16:15 Coffee Break

16:15 – 17:45 Concurrent Expert Sessions IV

19:00  Reception (Wallenstein Garden) - video

Přemysl Sobotka, President of the Senate, Parliament of the Czech Republic

Madeleine K. Albright, Former Secretary of State, USA

Monday, June 29, 2009 (Prague Congress Centre, National Theatre)


program_monday.pdf (55,7 kB)

9:00 – 12:30  Plenary Session (PCC)
Reports by Special Session and 4 Working Groups 

Statements by Heads of Delegations

• Stuart Eizenstat, Former Deputy Treasury Secretary and Under Secretary of State, USA Download
• Yuli Edelstein, Minister of Information and Diaspora Liaison, Israel Download
• Władyslaw Bartoszewski, State Secretary, Plenipotentiary of the Prime Minister for International Dialogue, Poland Download
• Michael Jansen, Former State Secretary of the Federal Foreign Office, Germany Download
• François Zimeray, Ambassador for Human Rights, France
• Pieter-Jan Wolthers, Director of Legal Affairs Department, MFA, Netherlands Download
• Susan Hyland, Head of Human Rights, Foreign and Commonwealth Office, United Kingdom Download
• Mikhail Shvydkoy, Special Representative of the President of the Russian Federation, Russia
• Dušan Čaplovič, Deputy Prime Minister, Slovakia
• Daniel Valtchev, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Education and Science, Bulgaria
• Claudia Schmied, Federal Minister for Education and Arts, Austria Download

12:30 - 13:30  Buffet Lunch

13:30 – 16:30 Plenary Session (cont.)

Statements by Representatives of NGOs

• Julius Berman, Conference on Jewish Material Claims Against Germany, USA Download
• Andrew Baker, American Jewish Committtee, USA
• Ellen M. Heller, American Jewish Joint Distribution Committee, USA Download
• Anne-Marie Revcolevschi, Fondation pour la Mémoire de la Shoah, France
• Martin Salm, Stiftung Erinnerung, Verantwortung und Zukunft, Germany Download
• Noach Flug, International Auschwitz Committee, Israel
• Dan Mariaschin, B‘nai B‘rith International, USA
• Jonathan Joseph, European Council of Jewish Communities, UK
• Emil Kalo, World ORT, Bulgaria
• Lord Janner, Holocaust Educational Trust, UK Download
• Čeněk Růžička, Committee for Compensation of the Romany Holocaust, Czech Republic Download

Statements by Heads of Delegations

• Jason Kenney, Minister of Citizenship, Immigration and Multiculturalism, Canada Download
• Raoul Delcorde, Adjunct Minister of Foreign Affairs, Belgium Download
• Andris Teikmanis, State Secretary, Latvia
• Deividas Matulionis, Secretary of State for Strategic Affairs, MFA, Lithuania Download
• Moland Pedersen, State Secretary, Ministry of Justice, Norway Download
• Bogdan Aurescu, Secretary of State for Strategic Affairs, MFA, Romania
• Aino Lepik von Wirén, Undersecretary Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Estonia
• Alexandar Heina, Director, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and European Integration, Croatia Download
• Elizabeta Kanceska-Milevska, Minister of Culture, FYROM Download
• Vicente Espeche Gil, Ambassador to the Czech Republic, Argentina Download
• Jakob Finci, Ambassador to the Switzerland, Bosnia and Herzegovina Download
• Arnold De Fine Skibsted, Ambassador, Denmark Download
• Alexander Philon, Ambassador, Greece Download
• András Lakatos, Ambassador to UNESCO, Hungary
• Volodymyr Vassylenko, Ambassador to the UN Human Rights Council, Ukraine
• Birnur Fertekligil, Ambassador, Turkey Download

Statements by Other Delegations


16:30   Concluding Remarks:
Yehuda Bauer, Historian, Israel

17:00   Press Conference (PCC, Small Theatre)

19:00   Special Performance (National Theatre)
“Golem 13”
World Premiere of Kabbalistic drama by George Whyte set to music by Noam Sheriff


Tuesday, June 30, 2009 (Terezín Memorial)


Program_tuesday.pdf (30,6 kB)

7:30 - 8:00 Departure of conference buses from the conference hotels to Terezin.

9:30 Concluding Ceremony (Terezín Memorial, Former Riding Hall)
Terezín Declaration

10:30   Concert
“Defiant Requiem” by Murry Sidlin

12:30   Closing Lunch (Terezín Memorial, Magdeburg Barracks)
Hosted by the European Commission

13:00 Departure of conference buses to Prague (airport and hotels)

13:00 - 15:00 Guided tours of Terezín Memorial (optional)
Please confirm your wish to participate at the guided walking tours in Terezin by email to boris.kalisky(at)

15:00 Departure of conference buses to Prague (airport and hotels)

Direct Links


Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Ministry of Culture
Embassy of Germany
Claims Conference
European Commission Representation
Česko-německý fond budoucnosti
Office of the Government
Ministry of Education, Youth and Sports
Documentation Centre
Památník Terezín
Federation of Jewish Communities
Židovské muzeum v Praze
Husitská teologická fakulta
Živá paměť
Forum 2000 foundation